Skip to content

7-7-11: Mouse Pinch-57mm

July 10, 2011

7-7-11, Thursday

MOUSE PINCH-57MM

-104×1     *Notes: Full lift. 

-139×1     *Notes: Full lift. 

-166-MISS     *Notes: Got about 2″ of air. 

-166-MISS     *Notes: Got about 1″ of air.  Uh oh – I shouldn’t be getting weaker already…time for Plan B – lowering the weight to get in a good lift today.

-160×1     *Notes: Pulled about 15″ – which is well over the legal pull height. 

-166×1     *Notes: Pulled about 10″ – which is a little over 1″ better than a legal pull. 

Did this entire pinch workout while standing on 11″ high stack of weight plates.  I had a ruler set up so that I could review my harder attempts and see how high they went. 

My 57mm 2HP max is 8lbs under my 52mm 2HP max right now.  I will continue switching back and forth so that I’ll be ready for Adam Glass’s grip contest in November though.  52mm and 57mm are both options at that contest and I want to be ready for either one.  I’ll also be doing 19mm 2HP regularly so that’ll add more variety into the equation.  

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Todd Coenen permalink
    July 10, 2011 8:01 pm

    Ben – I’m confused about the 52mm and 57mm options. Are those the only choices the lifters are going to have, or did you mean those are the two options you’re most comfortable with?

    • July 12, 2011 7:12 pm

      Todd, 52mm and 58mm are the only options that lifters will have at the Grip Decathlon. I think it’s mainly to save time. There will be somewhere around 20 lifters there. Add in 10 events – one of which is a 6-minute medley – and you’ve got a LOT of time spent changing weights and pinch widths. I’m most comfortable a little narrower – 47mm on my setup.

  2. Todd Coenen permalink
    July 12, 2011 10:10 pm

    I see. I didn’t realize that. Thanks for clarifying.

    • July 14, 2011 11:16 am

      Do you plan on competing Todd? That would be great to meet you there man.

Leave a Reply

