Skip to content

5-27-11: Shallow Hub 35

May 29, 2011

5-27-11, Friday

SHALLOW HUB 35

-MISS-right hand, -@ 8″-left hand     *Notes: Very hard to get this thing moving.

-MISS-right hand, -@ 1″-left hand     *Notes: That sucks.

-MISS-right hand, -@ 5″-left hand     *Notes: Feel like I’m on the verge of being able to pick the plate up if I can find the right technique.

-@ 1″-right hand, -FULL LIFT-left hand     *Notes: Very pleased with a full lift!  This is the first time I’ve hub lifted this shallow 35 in the “claw-style.”  Many times I’ve hub lifted it “vbar-style.” 

-FULL LIFT-both hands!     *Notes: Felt great to get it with both hands.  On video too.  Both hands pulled the plate to crotch-height. 

*Overall Notes: I found the best way (for me) to put my fingers and thumb on the claw-style.  I am not new to hub lifting.  I’ve lifted a bunch of 45lb plates by the hub.  That was vbar-style. 

Lifting on this shallow hub 35 should set me up just fine for Adam Glass’s Grip Decathlon in November – in Minnesota.  His contest is featuring the Grip Topz Shallow Hub.  But mine is close enough to the contest implement dimensions to at least be helpful in my contest prep. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

